Jump to Footer

Holiday Information for Professional & Classified Employees


 

2018 Calendar of Legal Holidays for State Employees

The following holidays have been designated by the State of New York for all employees except academic year faculty. Reduced staffing in most administrative support areas can be expected. Please plan ahead.

Date Holiday
Monday, Jan. 1 New Year’s Day
Monday, Jan. 15 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday, Feb. 12 Lincoln’s Birthday
Monday, Feb. 19 Washington’s Birthday (Observed)
Monday, May 28 Memorial Day
Wednesday, July 4 Independence Day
Monday, Sept. 3 Labor Day
Monday, Oct. 8 Columbus Day
Tuesday, Nov. 6 Election Day (Floating)
Sunday, Nov. 11 Veterans’ Day
Monday, Nov. 12 Veterans’ Day (Observed)
Thursday, Nov. 22 Thanksgiving Day
Tuesday, Dec. 25 Christmas Day

Holiday and Liberal Leave Schedule

2018

Date Holiday
Monday, Jan. 1 New Year’s Day
Monday, Jan. 15 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday, Feb. 12 Lincoln’s Birthday (Floating)
Monday, Feb. 19 Washington’s Birthday (Observed)
Friday, May 25 Liberal Leave
Monday, May 28 Memorial Day
Wednesday, July 4 Independence Day
Thursday, July 5 Liberal Leave
Monday, Sept. 3 Labor Day
Monday, Oct. 8 Columbus Day
Tuesday, Oct. 9 Liberal Leave
Tuesday, Nov. 6 Election Day (Floating)
Sunday, Nov. 11 Veterans’ Day
Monday, Nov. 12 Veterans’ Day (Observed)
Wednesday, Nov. 21 Liberal Leave
Thursday, Nov. 22 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, Nov. 23 Liberal Leave
Monday, Dec. 24 Liberal Leave
Tuesday, Dec. 25 Christmas Day
Wednesday, Dec. 26 Liberal Leave
Thursday, Dec. 27 Liberal Leave
Friday, Dec. 28 Liberal Leave
Monday, Dec. 31 Liberal Leave

2019

Date Holiday
Tuesday, Jan. 1 New Year’s Day
Monday, Jan. 21 Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Tuesday, Feb. 12 Lincoln’s Birthday (Floating)
Monday, Feb. 18 Washington’s Birthday (Observed)
Friday, May 24 Liberal Leave
Monday, May 27 Memorial Day
Thursday, July 4 Independence Day
Friday, July 5 Liberal Leave

Notes:

  • Floating Holiday — offices are open
  • Liberal Leave — core office hours are not required, appropriate leave credits are charged
  • UUP Professionals observe Nov. 23, 2018 as a floating holiday in lieu of the observance of Election Day, Nov. 6, 2018, in accordance with Article XIII, Title D of the Policies of the Board of Trustees. 
  • Normal core office hours are 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. During the following periods, the core hours are revised to 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. with a half hour lunch.
    • Dec. 18, 2017 – Jan. 26, 2018
    • March 12 – March 16, 2018
    • May 21 – Aug. 17, 2018
    • Dec. 17, 2018 – Jan. 25, 2019
    • March 18 – March 22, 2019
    • May 20 – Aug. 16, 2019
Back to top