Jump to Footer

Fleet Management Policy

Provides guidelines to help ensure the safety of employees and authorized volunteers and the cost-effectiveness of fleet management practices and procedures.

Policy Information

Policy Number Policy Owner
5014.4 Facilities


  • 4.0 Policy


    4.1.1 Usage of State Vehicles is for SUNY Plattsburgh faculty, staff, students, and Authorized Volunteers and for official College Business only.

    4.1.2 University-Affiliated Organizations may only utilize State Vehicles if they are acting on behalf of the College and conducting College Business

    4.1.3 The only person authorized to drive the state vehicle is the name listed on the vehicle request authorization to travel form.

    4.1.4 The college reserves the right to refuse to release a vehicle for travel purposes due to inclement weather.

    4.1.5 For Residence Hall Programming use of 12 passenger vans is restricted to a radius of 60 miles from the College. For travel beyond a 60 miles radius, Residence Hall Programming must use mini vans or use a vehicle from a rental agency.

    4.1.6 Drivers towing small utility or boat trailers by College fleet passenger vans must be specifically trained to do so. Only trained drivers will be approved for trailer towing, on a limited basis.

    4.1.7 A Vice President or designee must approve all out-of-state travel prior to the scheduled trip.

    4.1.8 Because of the limited capabilities of the campus owned GEM cars and other electric powered vehicles, drivers only have to be 18 years of age and hold a valid US drivers license.

    4.1.9 Requests for exceptions to this policy must be addressed in writing to the appropriate Vice President.


    4.2.1 All drivers must be College Employees or Authorized Volunteers acting within the scope of their responsibilities.

    4.2.2 Students may only be drivers if: It is not feasible to use another driver who is an employee They are a College Employee acting within the scope of their responsibilities or approved as an Authorized Volunteer a staff member accompanies the transport of students for the approved purpose

    4.2.3 All drivers of State Vehicles must hold a valid United States drivers license, have completed their probationary period for their driver’s license, and not hold a restricted use license to operate vehicles. A copy of the driver’s license must be on file with the campus prior to the trip.

    4.2.4 Drivers who do not possess a New York State driver’s license must provide University Police with a copy of their driving abstract each semester. Individuals holding international driver’s licenses will not be allowed to operate vehicles

    4.2.5 All drivers must enroll in the NYS License Event Notification System (LENS) program.

    4.2.6 All drivers must be at least 20 years of age unless the exception listed in 4.1.8 applies

    4.2.7 All passengers must be employees of New York State, authorized volunteers, or other authorized personnel (e.g. students).


    4.3.1 All drivers must abide by the Vehicle and Traffic Laws and other appropriate laws when operating a vehicle on state business including, but not limited to the following: Maintain the proper speed. If no limit is posted, drive no faster than 55 mph. Speeding ticket fines are doubled in work zones, even when the workers or work vehicles are not there. Signal before turning or changing lanes. Allow enough space between driver’s vehicle and other vehicles to allow room to stop safely if the other vehicle stops suddenly. Wear seat belts Abstain from driving if tired or on medication, or have been drinking alcoholic beverages. Schedule regular stops, every 100 miles or two hours Use of cellular phones without a hands-free cellular adapter is prohibited

    4.3.2 Possession and/or use of alcohol, illegal drugs or other intoxicating substances in the vehicle are strictly forbidden.

    4.3.3 Use of any tobacco products in State vehicles is prohibited.

    4.3.4 Seatbelt use by all van occupants is required. The vehicle may not be operated unless everyone in the van is belted


    4.4.1 All accidents involving College Employees or Authorized Volunteers driving a State Vehicle on College Business must be reported to the appropriate police agency, University Police, and the Facilities Office (located in the Service Complex). The driver of the vehicle is responsible for providing copies of police accident reports and filing a NYS MV104 Report with Facilities.

    4.4.2 All vehicle or equipment accidents meeting any of the following criteria must be reported to the State Accident Review Board (See 5/21/14 OGS Memo) within 10 days if any of the following criteria are met: Incident involving a fatality; Incident which has had or will have a significant negative impact on New York State’s insurance premiums and/or insurance coverages; Instance in which the New York State operator has accumulated two 2) or more moving accidents (i.e., vehicle in motion) within a 24-month period; Incident(s) in which a New York State vehicle(s) is deemed to be a “total loss” where frequency and/or cost appear to be factors; Incident resulting in $5,000 or more in property damage Incident resulting in $10,000 or more in bodily injury damages Incident raising questions or concerns about State fleet policy or procedure from a state risk management perspective; and Incident that is a legal violation that is reported through the Department of Motor Vehicles LENS Program


    4.5.1 In general, College Employees or Authorized Volunteers using State Vehicles will be covered by the State unless negligence is proven

    4.5.2 Detailed information about liability can be found in 2/25/2010 SUNY Legal Memo in Attachment 1 and 2.

For additional information about this policy, please contact the Policy Owner listed above.

Back to top