Jump to Footer

Electronic & Information Technology Committee

The EIT committee is dedicated to working with the faculty and staff on campus to meet the needs of students and colleagues with disabilities.

Our college follows ADA guidelines not just because it is the law, but also because it is the right thing to do.

Supporting students and employees with disabilities is a big part of our commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion. The EIT office provides support services, adaptive technologies, and other assistance required to help all students succeed. The committee advocates for full accessibility and inclusion for students and employees with disabilities within the SUNY Plattsburgh community. Accommodations and adaptive technologies are designed to help people with disabilities overcome barriers and level the playing field.

Accessible design is good design — it benefits people who don’t have disabilities as well as people who do. Accessibility is all about removing barriers and providing the benefits of technology for everyone.
Stephen Ballmer, former Microsoft CEO

SUNY Task Force

On July 26, 2021, SUNY announced the creation of a SUNY-wide Empowering Students with Disability Task Force to address challenges faced by students with disabilities and provide additional educational opportunities for them. The work of the task force and committees across the state will benefit everyone, no matter their ability.

At SUNY Plattsburgh, we have established an Electronic and Information Technology Committee and appointed an accessibility officer in accordance with SUNY’s mandate. The EIT committee assesses the existing state of the campus and devises strategies to rectify any shortcomings.

Throughout the academic year, SUNY Plattsburgh’s EIT accessibility committee shares important information concerning issues, challenges, and solutions that will help make our campus a more accessible environment. Ultimately, this work will help our graduates contribute to a more just, equitable, and accessible world.

Committee Membership

The EIT accessibility committee was established by the Office of the Provost at SUNY Plattsburgh in April 2021. It consists of members from each division: Academic Affairs, Administration and Finance, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion and Enrollment and Student Success. In addition, the committee includes two student employees/interns.

Committee Members


2021 Electronic Information Technology Accessibility Progress Report

Back to top