Jump to Footer

Faculty, Staff Saluted for Service During Longevity Luncheon

Thirty-eight faculty and staff members celebrated milestone years at SUNY Plattsburgh during the annual Longevity Luncheon Friday, Jan. 27 at the Angell College Center.

Those employees who’ve reached milestones of 25, 30, 35, 40 and 45 years of service were treated to lunch and mementos from the college. 

Celebrating 45 years of service were:

Dr. James Dawson, distinguished service professor, Center for Earth and Environmental Science; Dr. Hiroshi Ito, professor, political science; Dr. Glenn Myer, professor, physics.

Celebrating 40 years of service:

Richard Higgins ’76, director of enrollment management, associate vice president admissions and enrollment management; John Homburger  ’75, vice president administration, business affairs; Carol Johnson, administrative assistant, College Auxiliary Services; Albert Mihalek ’75, executive assistant to the dean of arts and science.

Celebrating 35 years of service:

Suzanne Bezio, secretary I, human resource services; Dr. Martha Frost, professor and chair, human development and family relations; Dr. Charles List, professor, chair, philosophy; Loren Nephew, driver/receiver, Chartwells; Ethel Hewson-Parent, janitor, maintenance and operations; Denise Philo ’96, college registrar ; Dawn Short, secretary I, Office of the President; Debra Thomas ’91, secretary II, institutional advancement; Jill Yando, secretary I, telecommunications.

Celebrating 30 years of service:

Gordon Burdo ’71, television engineer, library and information services; Suzanne Dailey ’80 G’85, director, assistant vice president, academic affairs; Dr. George Flynn, professor, mathematics; Dr. David Franzi, distinguished teaching professor, Center for Earth and Environmental Science; Dr. Mohamed Gaber, professor and chair, accounting; Carol LaPorte, Secretary I, communication; William Long, general mechanic, maintenance and operations; Nora Montanaro ’82 G’92 G’99, lecturer, journalism and public relations; Robin Prenoveau, secretary II, School of Education, Health and Human Services; Anne Rowland, associate librarian, library and information services; Marjorie Waldron, cleaner, maintenance and operations; Christopher Waterbruy , head men’s soccer coach, sport and wellness; Lizabeth Woodard, secretary II, academic affairs.

Celebrating 25 years of service:

Dr. Robert Christopherson, professor/chair, economics and finance; Deborah DeSilva, associate professor, communications; B, supervisor, business affairs; Cherice Granger ’06, secretary II, Center for the Study of Canada; Joy LaPorte, secretary I, Student Health and Counseling Center; Dr. Stephen Light, professor, sociology; Lyn McIlroy ’81, associate professor, Center for Earth and Environmental Science; Jacqueline Vogl, director/associate vice president, global education; Karen Waterbury ’87, director, recreational sports, sports and wellness.

Back to top