Jump to Footer

Dr. David Mowry Honored by National Leadership Society

PLATTSBURGH, N.Y. (June 5, 2008) - Joseph Murphy, president of the SUNY Plattsburgh chapter of Omicron Delta Kappa honored Dr. David Mowry, SUNY distinguished teaching professor of philosophy, by recognizing him with the Dr. Eldridge W. Roark Jr. Award for Faculty/Professional Staff Leadership at a ceremony this spring.

The national leadership honor society recognized Dr. Mowry's work over the last 25 years as the founding director of the Honors Center at the college.

"Dr. Mowry not only knows all 350 students in this program, he welcomes countless numbers of them warm-heartedly to his office every day, all year long," said Dr. E. Thomas Moran, the director of the Institute for Ethics in Public Life and SUNY distinguished professor, who nominated Mowry for the Dr. Eldridge award. "He provides them with emotional support, inspiration to achieve their best work and counsels them on future directions for their lives after they leave college."

Since 1996, the Dr. Eldrige Roark Jr. award seeks to distinguish faculty and staff who have consistently interacted with and led students outside of the classroom.

"This award, named after long-time Vice President of Student Affairs, Dr. Eldridge Roark, is especially meaningful given his long service to the college and his leadership, both locally and nationally, of ODK," said Mowry.

"I was both surprised and honored to be given this award. ODK's commitment to leadership and academic excellence make this award especially meaningful," he added. "It has been deeply rewarding to have the opportunity to work with both faculty and students who have come through the Honors Program, and it is really they who have made the Honors Program flourish, and, therefore, they are the ones who deserve this award."

Back to top