Jump to Footer

Student Wins National Broadcasting Award

PLATTSBURGH, NY __ The Communication Department at the State University of New York College at Plattsburgh has announced that six students were named finalists in the National Broadcasting Society Student Electronic Media Competition.

Jared Stanley was named the national winner in the industrial/promotional program for his "Student Association Election Special" piece on PSTV, the College's student-run television station.

Students Stephanie Hunter, Phil Ada, Make Cameron and Michelle Cummings were national runner-ups in the commercial category for their PSTV commercial, "We're Here." Jay Lewin won the national runner-up title for his work on the Plattsburgh State's chapter of the National Broadcasting Society Website.

The awards were given at the recent National Broadcasting Awards Banquet in Washington, D.C.

"These students did a very good job," said Christine Johnson, assistant professor of communication, who traveled with the students. "SUNY Plattsburgh has a very competitive communication program. These awards show that we've raised the bar as far as instruction and as a department, and our students have stepped up to the plate. I'm very proud of them. It is impressive competing on a national level."

The students also participated in a number of other events while in Washington, D.C., including panel discussions presented by communication professionals as well as reviewing the work of students from other universities.

-- 30 --

Back to top