Jump to Footer

Cardinal Points Earns 12th All American

The Associated Collegiate Press has once again named Cardinal Points an All-American newspaper — this time for the spring semester of 2011.

This is the 12th such ranking for SUNY Plattsburgh’s independent, student-run newspaper, which was named to the ACP Hall of Fame in October 2010 after receiving the honor 10 times in an 11-year span.

Awarded to student newspapers for journalistic excellence, All American status is bestowed on only about 20 percent of college newspapers nationwide. To be named an All American, a newspaper must score 900 or higher out of 1,090 points and receive at least four Marks of Distinction out of the five possible..

For the spring semester 2011, Cardinal Points received a score of 915 and Marks of Distinction in four categories: coverage and content; photos, art and graphics; layout and design; and leadership..

“I am, as always, very pleased with the students and what they do to put out a good newspaper — not only in print, but online,” said Shawn W. Murphy, Cardinal Points adviser since fall 1997and an associate professor and chair of the Department of Journalism.

That online publication has meant that the Cardinal Points audience is no longer limited to students and faculty. It has expanded to include alumni, community members and even prospective students, Murphy said..

Murphy was especially happy for Editor-in-Chief Matt Rosenberg. The paper has now received All American status for both semesters in which Rosenberg was at its helm..

“He has a perfect record as editor in chief. This is not unheard of, but it is pretty rare,” Murphy said..

The other student-editors for the spring 2011 semester were Managing Editor Jameson Sempey; News Editor Melissa Erny; Associate News Editors Gabrielle Bilik and Amanda Bradford; Fuse Editor Jenna Burleigh; Associate Fuse Editor Matthew Hamilton; Sports Editor  Brian Cremo; Associate Sports Editor Eric Gissendanner; Opinions Editor Kristofer Fiore; Photo Editor Gabe Dickens; Associate Photo Editor Jaime Thomas; Art Director Amanda Fruehauf; Online Editor Ben Rowe; Associate Online Editor Paul Stern; and Advertising Manager Mike Lounsbury.

Back to top