Jump to Footer

SUNY Plattsburgh Psychology Program Wins National Accreditation

PLATTSBURGH, NY (August 23, 2007) - The Psychology department at the State University of New York College at Plattsburgh was recently notified that it has met the requirements and standards to win national recognition and accreditation by the National Association of School Psychologists (NASP). The College was notified that its Master of Arts, Certificate of Advanced Study in School Psychology degree received the highly-sought accreditation.

"This milestone for our graduate program is the result of a long and meticulous reworking of the classes and policies to conform to national standards," said Dr. Dale Phillips, associate professor of psychology. "NASP accreditation will increase the professional mobility and desirability of graduates from our program."

The National Association of School Psychologists represents and supports school psychology through leadership to enhance the mental health and educational competence of all children. Their accreditation program sets strict, high-level standards of professionalism, ethical and best practices for school psychologists and the programs that train them.

Dr. John Kelly, president of the New York Association of School Psychologists (NYASP), had high praise for SUNY Plattsburgh.  "The New York Association of School Psychologists  would like to congratulate the graduate program in school psychology at SUNY Plattsburgh, which has earned conditional approval and accreditation from the National Association of School Psychologists (NASP). NYASP supports the NASP training standards, which represent the highest quality educational and experience requirements to prepare professionals in the field of school psychology."

According to Phillips, this "gold star" achievement for SUNY Plattsburgh is thanks to the faculty who teach and direct the School Psychology program and many people across the College community  "Although accreditation was a team effort," Phillips said, "particularly instrumental members of the Psychology department were Drs. Jeanne Ryan, Bill Gaeddert, and Bill Took. In addition, Kathy Lavoie, dean of arts and sciences; David Hill, dean of education, health and human services; and Provost Robert Golden were integral to our success in attaining this recognition. Currently, the accreditation is provisional, extending for the next two years, at which time NASP will re-examine the program in consideration of permanent accreditation."

"The faculty in School Psychology have worked hard over the last several years to make sure the curriculum is aligned with NASP standards," said Kathy Lavoie, dean of arts and sciences at SUNY Plattsburgh. "It is nice to see that NASP thinks they're doing an excellent job educating professional school psychologists."


Back to top