Jump to Footer

SUNY Plattsburgh, Olympic Regional Development Authority Co-host Championships

LAKE PLACID, N.Y. (July 19, 2010) -- The NCAA Division III Men’s Ice Hockey Committee recently announced that the 2012 and 2013 Division III men’s ice hockey national championships will take place in Lake Placid, N.Y. The New York State Olympic Regional Development Authority and State University of New York College at Plattsburgh are the co-hosts of the two tournaments.

"It’s always exciting to have great hockey in a legendary hockey town," remarked ORDA president/CEO Ted Blazer. "ORDA and Lake Placid appreciate the opportunity to host this event and look forward to its arrival with anticipation."

For the 2010-11 campaign, the nation’s top four teams will vie for the national crown at Ridder Arena on the campus of the University of Minnesota before returning to the famed 1980 Herb Brooks Olympic arena, which played host to the last three national championships, teaming with SUNY Plattsburgh to co-host the past two.

"We're thrilled that Lake Placid has the championship again, ORDA has a track record of hosting big events. The championship has seen attendance records broken during the three-year run (from 2008 to 2010),” added SUNY Plattsburgh athletic director and NCAA Men's Hockey Committee Chair Bruce Delventhal. “It's been a success from a budget perspective, and the fan experience has been great.  Plus, the feedback from the team participants has been positive."

The championship weekends in Lake Placid will feature two semi-final games, on the first day, followed by the championship match-up on the second day. Last year, St. Norbert College, Oswego State, Norwich University and SUNY Plattsburgh comprised the Frozen Four. Norwich skated away with the title, beating St. Norbert, 2-1, in what was the longest game in NCAA Division III tournament history at 99 minutes and 29 seconds.

For more information about ORDA and the Olympic venues, log on to www.whitefacelakeplacid.com, and for more information on SUNY Plattsburgh, visit www.plattsburgh.edu.

The Cardinals have hosted numerous NCAA tournament games plus five Division III national championships in 1987, 1992, 1998, 2009 and 2010. Plattsburgh, which was the national champion in 1992 and 2001, owns NCAA records of 18 appearances and 11 Frozen Four berths.

Back to top