Jump to Footer

SUNY Plattsburgh Communications Students Win National Awards

Students from SUNY Plattsburgh’s Department of Communication Studies won six national awards at the 73rd National Broadcasting Society conference held in Atlanta March 24-29.

The National Broadcasting Society-Alpha Epsilon Rho is a student-and-professional society with more than 120 chapters that provides enrichment opportunities for those entering television, broadcasting and related fields. Jeffrey Bullins, assistant professor of communications and local NBS chapter adviser, accompanied 17 students to Atlanta. The annual conference allows students to learn from and network with broadcast professionals from across the country. 

Students Corey Lonergan, a senior from Ghent, N.Y., majoring in TV/video production, Chelsea Helms, Ashley Bartolomeo, a senior from Mastic Beach, N.Y., majoring in TV/video and audio/radio production, and Natalie Gramegna, a sophomore from Massapequa, N.Y. majoring in audio/radio production and digital media, won for best on-the-spot video news package.

Michael Meere, a sophomore from Middletown, N.Y., majoring in TV/video production,  won for best video public service announcement. Bartolomeo also won for best audio drama program or segment.

Matt Auten, a senior from New City, N.Y. majoring in TV/video production/broadcast journalism and audio/radio production, won for best video comedy segment. He and Adam Heverly, a senior from Saranac Lake, N.Y., majoring in TV/audio and audio/radio production, won for best comedy program and for best video program opener.

"It has been great to see NBS grow through the years," said Colleen Brandt, a senior from Brewster, N.Y., majoring in TV/video production major who serves as president of the Plattsburgh chapter. “The students deserved to win because they have worked very hard on these projects and productions day in and day out.”

“I'm very proud and honored to be recognized on a national level. It feels great to show that you don't need be from a big school to win awards like these,” said three-time winner Auten. “If you work hard, ask your professors questions, and make the most out of your opportunities in college, anybody can be successful.”

Bullins added, “Though we are comparatively smaller, our students' work was recognized as the best among competitors from schools such as the University of Florida, University of Oklahoma, and Texas A&M. We may not have as large a department, but our students are working hard, producing great projects and bringing national recognition to the department and the campus.”

Students in the Department of Communication Studies can major in television/video production, broadcast journalism, audio/radio production and digital media production. Students can also minor in broadcast management and radio.  For more information, contact Department Chair Shakuntala Rao, 518-564-4291 or [email protected].  

Back to top