Jump to Footer

National Hockey Champions, Coach of the Year to be Honored at Dinner April 21

PLATTSBURGH, NY __ The National Collegiate Athletic Association Division III National Champion Women's Ice Hockey Team and Women's Ice Hockey Coach of the Year will be honored as during a special community-wide dinner on Saturday, April 21 at the State University of New York at Plattsburgh.

National Champion Plattsburgh State Women's Ice Hockey Team SUNY Plattsburgh President John Ettling and his wife, Lisa Lewis, will host a buffet dinner to honor the champion women's ice hockey team and Head Coach Kevin Houle Saturday, April 21 beginning at 6:30 p.m. in the Charles and Nancy Warren Ballrooms, Angell College Center.

The cost for the reception and dinner is $25 per person, $10 for children ages 3 to 12 and free to children under 3. Tickets can be purchased in advance at the Information Desk, Angell College Center beginning Wednesday, April 4.

Individuals, corporations and businesses interested in assisting the College in recognizing the athletes and Coach Houle may sponsor this event by making a tax-deductible, charitable gift of $250 to the Plattsburgh College Foundation. Sponsorship checks made payable to the Foundation may be mailed to 101 Broad Street, Plattsburgh, NY 12901. Sponsorship gifts may also be made online at www.plattsburgh.edu/makeagift by indicating "Women's Ice Hockey Championship" in the memo field under additional information.

The Cardinals won the NCAA Division III Women's Ice Hockey Championship with a 2-1 victory over rival Middlebury College before 1,333 spectators at the Ronald B. Stafford Ice Arena March 17.

President Ettling said, "SUNY Plattsburgh is very proud of the Lady Cardinals. The team's dedication to the game has brought national exposure to the College. I commend the players and coaches and congratulate them on this special achievement."

It was the Cardinals' first NCAA title since the College added women's hockey six years ago to its roster of intercollegiate sports. The Cards capped off their undefeated season at 27-0-2 setting a school record for victories. Plattsburgh also becomes the first NCAA all-Divisions women's championship team without a loss and just the fourth in collegiate hockey history. Plattsburgh was ranked No. 1 for the last 13 weeks in Division III according to USCHO.com

Houle has produced a 96-16-6 (.839) record, four Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) West Division regular-season crowns and back-to-back ECAC West Tournament championships during his four seasons at the helm. Houle becomes the first honoree to repeat in consecutive seasons since Middlebury's Bill Mandigo in 2005. He will officially receive the honor a week later at the American Hockey Coaches Association Convention in Naples, Fl.

For more information on the dinner, contact Bruce Delventhal, director of athletics, 518-564-3140 or Keith Tyo, executive assistant to the president, 518-564-3930. For more information regarding sponsorship, contact the Foundation Office at 518-564-2090.
-- 30 --

Back to top