Jump to Footer

Moberg Named Laura Hurd Finalist

GLOUCESTER, Mass. (March 17, 2010) -- SUNY Plattsburgh senior co-captain Stephanie Moberg is one of five finalists for the Laura Hurd Award, symbolic of the best player in the sport of NCAA Division III women's ice hockey. The annual award is presented by the American College Hockey Association and will be announced at the Final Four hosted by Gustavus Adolphus College.

The other finalists are Lake Forest sophomore forward Kim Herring, Trinity-Conn. senior goaltender Isabel Iwachiw, Elmira senior defenseman Jamie Kivi and St. Catherine junior forward Michaela Michaelson.

A left wing from Saratoga Springs, N.Y. (Northwood School), Moberg ranked third nationally in scoring with 43 points on 25 goals and 18 assists -- producing career highs for the two former statistical figures. She was named the 2010 Eastern College Athletic Conference West Division Player of the Year and made the all-conference first team for the second straight year. She is a leading candidate to repeat first-team All-America honors won as a junior.

She helped lead the Cardinals to a 23-3-2 record, sixth regular-season conference title and seventh NCAA tournament appearance.

Back to top