Jump to Footer

Community Scholarship Recipients Recognized for Leadership, Volunteerism

Project HELP and Omicron Delta Kappa, through the Center for Student Involvement, hosted a Student Recognition Ceremony for Leadership and Service, honoring the 2016-2017 recipients of the Community Service Scholarship Tuesday afternoon, April 18, in the Angell College Center Ballrooms.

Scholarship recipients recognized were: 

Jayah Arnett, a sophomore public relations and broadcast journalism major from Spanish Harlem, who is an active community volunteer through the Educational Opportunity Program. Arnett volunteered her time to bring civil rights activist Joan Mulholland to campus in March. She also spent time volunteering in Thailand working in elephant conservation.

Sarahana Shrestha, a sophomore major in environmental planning and management from Kathmandu, Nepal, has donated more than 100 hours working with the Spark Children Home, Child Protection Centers and Services, and St. Xavier’s Social Service Center, all in Nepal. In Plattsburgh, she volunteers as a peer educator at the Violence Prevention Education and Outreach Office.

Pakin Srijinda, a junior English literature and writing arts major from Bangkok, Thailand, has volunteered his time with the Clinton County Nursing Home and Meadowbrook Healthcare, and the Adopt-a-Highway Program as a tutor-counselor with SUNY Plattsburgh’s TRIO Upward Bound program. He also served as a health awareness volunteer in Tanzania.

Ray Wagner, a senior expeditionary studies major from Rochester, N.Y., serves as the Project HELP coordinator.

Vihan Wickramasinghe, a junior physics major from Colombo, Sri Lanka, volunteers his two to four hours every Sunday in the CVPH Medical Center lobby playing concert-level piano. He also volunteers at the Strand Center for the Arts, tunes pianos for free, and has done countless hours of service with Phi Mu Delta.

The $2,500 Community Service Scholarships, funded by the Plattsburgh College Foundation, are administered by the Center for Community Engagement and are awarded to students who have engaged in a consistent and sustained record of excellence in volunteer community service.

Back to top