Jump to Footer

Kate Moses

Assistant Professor of English

Kate Moses specializes in teaching fiction and creative nonfiction. Her other areas of interest are writings by women, drama, and the creative process. She is the author of the international award-winning novel Wintering: A Novel of Sylvia Plath, published in 17 languages, as well as the critically acclaimed memoir Cakewalk. She is also the co-editor of two bestselling anthologies on motherhood, Mothers Who Think and Because I Said So, and brings to her teaching an extensive background as an editor and in nonprofit arts.

She is currently completing a second novel, The Fayum Portraits, inspired by 2000-year old Egyptian memorial paintings, and a multi-genre work on Emily Dickinson and the metaphor of sight.


  • M.F.A., San Francisco State University (2013)
  • B.A., University of the Pacific

Teaching Areas

  • ENG 101 College Writing II
  • ENG 161 Intro to Fiction
  • ENG 201 Intro to Creative Writing
  • ENG 209 Intro to Writing Fiction
  • ENG 303 Writing Fiction
  • ENG 306 Topics in Writing: Animal Characters
  • ENG 306 Topics in Writing: Writing in the U.K.
  • ENG 306 Topics in Writing: Words & Images
  • ENG 318/THE 318 Playwriting
  • ENG 408 Literary Magazine Workshop (ZPlatt)
  • ENG 422/GWS 300 Global Issues: Literary Visions of Girlhood
  • ENG 422 Global Issues: History as Fiction, Fiction as History

Selected Publications

  • Cakewalk, A Memoir (The Dial Press, 2010)
  • Because I Said So: 33 Mothers Write about Children, Sex, Men, Aging, Faith, Race & Themselves (HarperCollins, 2005)
  • Wintering: A Novel of Sylvia Plath (St. Martin’s/Anchor, 2003)
  • Mothers Who Think: Tales of Real-Life Parenthood (Villard, 1999)

Selected Awards

  • Diane Middlebrook Memorial Fellowship, Djerassi Foundation, 2013
  • Lannan Literary Fellowship, 2012
  • Finalist, Northern California Book Award, 2011
  • MacDowell Colony Fellow, 2010
  • Prix des lectrices de Elle, 2005
  • Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize, 2003
  • Everett Helm Visiting Research Fellowship, 2001
  • American Book Award, 1999
Back to top