License Event Notification System (LENS) Policy
Expresses the campus' commitment to ensuring the validity of a motor vehicle operators driver's license when operating a motor vehicle on state business.
|Policy Number||Policy Owner|
- 1.0 Purpose
- 2.0 Revision History
- 3.0 Units and Persons Affected
All employees and students who wish to drive a state owned/leased/rented or College Auxiliary Services (CAS) vehicle on state business must supply University Police with a copy of their driver’s license (applicants may cover their picture and the physical characteristic description on their license when copying prior to forwarding to University Police) and a copy of the LENS release, which they are to have read and signed. This should be completed at least three weeks prior to the travel date so as to give sufficient processing time. A copy of the applicant’s license must be on file with University Police prior to driving. All applicants who are approved to drive must comply with the SUNY Plattsburgh Fleet Management Policy (see Appendix).
University Police will utilize the LENS program to ensure the validity of the applicant’s driver’s license. Submission of driver’s licenses will only need to be submitted one time in that the LENS program is self-perpetuating.
All applicants must hold a valid United States drivers license, be 20 years of age, have completed their probationary period for their driver’s license and not be holding a restricted use license to operate vehicles on state business. All applicants must be employees of the New York State, authorized volunteers, or other authorized personnel.
Because of the limited capabilities of the campus owned GEM cars, drivers only have to be 18 years of age and hold a valid US drivers license.
University Police will generate an authorized list of campus drivers, which will only be shared with the appropriate offices that authorize/release vehicles (Purchasing, Accounting, Maintenance & Operations, University Police, Dean of Students Office, Sport & Wellness, Canadian Studies and Study Abroad & Exchange). All authorized drivers must abide by the SUNY Plattsburgh’s Fleet Management Policy (see Appendix)
Employees and students who do not possess a New York State driver’s license must provide University Police with a copy of their driving abstract each semester. Individuals holding international driver’s licenses will not be allowed to operate vehicles on state business.
University Police will not release the individual driving records of any applicants to anyone other than the applicant and Human Resources Services, in the event of a personnel matter.
The University reserves the rights to deny the driver from operating a state owned/leased/rented or College Auxiliary Services (CAS) vehicle on state business in cases where special circumstances exist that make the driver a risk (ex. Charged with vehicular assault or manslaughter). In addition, when operating a SUNY Plattsburgh fleet vehicle, drivers must abide by the SUNY Plattsburgh’s Fleet Management Policy (see Appendix).
Conversely, the University reserves the right to clear a driver for operation of a state owned/leased/rented or College Auxiliary Services (CAS) vehicle on state business in cases where special circumstances exonerate the driver of being designated a risk (ex. A grounds department worker drives only on campus for work purposes but has a conditional license only). All drivers must abide by the Vehicle and Traffic Laws and other appropriate laws when operating a vehicle on state business.
Further, applicants who have been convicted of one of the following driving violations will be precluded from operating any VAN:
- In the past 36 months, any conviction of drinking or drug use while driving.
- In the past 12 months a person has more then two moving violations.
- In the past 24 months a person has more than three moving violations.
- In the past 12 months, a person has been involved in two or more accidents that are recorded on the Motor Vehicle Record.
- In the past 36 months a person has been convicted of reckless driving.
- In the past 36 months a person has been convicted of leaving the scene of an accident or failure to report an accident.
- Driver has been convicted of vehicular manslaughter.
- Driver has been convicted of vehicular assault. Finally, in addition to all of the above, individuals applying to utilize any VAN are responsible for the following:
- Driver must attend and pass the van safety education program, when instituted, prior to utilizing the van
- Driver must inspect the van prior to operation
- Driver must ensure the number of occupants does not exceed the capacity of the van
- Driver must ensure all occupants wear seatbelts
- Driver must ensure that no alcohol is allowed in the van
- Driver must ensure that the amount of time he/she spends behind the wheel is not excessive
- No roof racks will be allowed on top of the larger vans
- Only employees who receive appropriate training or have extensive experience may drive vans that tow trailers
- Smoking is not allowed in state owned or CAS vehicles.
- All accidents, involving employees and students driving a state owned/leased/rented vehicle on state business, must be reported to the appropriate police agency, University Police, and the Facilities Office (located in the Service Complex). The driver of the vehicle is responsible for providing copies of police accident reports and filing a NYS MV104 Report with Facilities.
- 5.0 Definitions
- 6.0 Responsibilities
- 7.0 Procedures
- 8.0 Forms
- 9.0 Appendix
- 10.0 Distribution and Training
For additional information about this policy, please contact the Policy Owner listed above.