Academic Year Calendar for Faculty

Fall Semester 2013

August

  • Wednesday, August 21: New Faculty Orientation.
  • Friday, August 23: President's Welcome Department/Divison Meetings.
  • Saturday, August 24: Residence halls open (8 a.m.); Fall convocation (5 p.m.) .
  • Sunday, August 25: New student advising and registration — 10 a.m.
    Fall 2013 add/drop begins via Banner — 5:15 p.m.
  • Monday, August 26: Fall semester classes begin.

September

  • Sunday, September 1: Fall 2013 course add/drop ends (11:30 p.m.).
  • Monday, September 2: Labor Day (classes IN session).
  • Friday, September 20: Last day to apply for in-state residency for fall semester.

October

  • Monday, October 14: No classes Columbus Day (observed).
  • Tuesday, October 15: No classes.
  • Wednesday, October 16: Midterm grades due 11:30 p.m.
  • Monday, October 21: Winter 2014 and spring 2014 course advisement begins.

November

  • Friday, November 1: Winter 2014 and spring 2014 course advisement ends.
  • Friday, November 15: Celebration of Scholarship (3:30 - 5 pm) Feinberg Library.
  • Tuesday, November 26: Classes end (10 p.m.) — Thanksgiving break.
  • Wednesday, November 27: Residence halls close (noon).

December

  • Sunday, December 1: Residence halls open (noon).
  • Monday, December 2: Classes resume.
  • Saturday, December 7: Final Week begins.
  • Friday, December 13: Fall semester ends (noon).
  • Saturday, December 14: Commencement (10 a.m.).
    Residence halls close (10 a.m.) except for graduating seniors (5:00 p.m.).
  • Wednesday, December 18: Final grades due (noon).

Winter Session 2014

  • December 23 – January 24: Online courses only (5 weeks).
  • January 6 – January 24: Other courses (3 weeks).
  • January 20: No classes Martin Luther King Day.
  • Wednesday, January 29: Final grades due (4:00 p.m.).

Spring Semester 2014

January

  • Friday, January 24: Planning Day (tentative).
  • Saturday, January 25: Residence halls open (11 a.m.).
  • Sunday, January 26: New student advising and registration — 10 a.m.
    Spring 2014 add/drop begins via Banner — 5:15 p.m.
  • Monday, January 27: Spring semester classes begin.

February

  • Sunday, February 2: Spring 2014 add/drop ends (11:30 p.m.).
  • Friday, February 21: Last day to apply for in-state residency for Fall 2014 semester.

March

  • Friday, March 14: Classes end (10 p.m.) — spring break.
  • Saturday, March 15: Residence halls close (noon).
  • Sunday, March 23: Residence halls open (noon).
  • Monday, March 24: Classes resume.
  • Wednesday, March 26: Midterm grades due (11:30 p.m.).
  • Monday, March 31: Summer 2014 and Fall 2014 course advisement begins.

April 

  • Friday, April 11: Summer 2014 and Fall 2014 course advisement ends.
    Last day of unrestricted withdrawal.

May

  • Saturday, May 10: Final Week begins.
  • Friday, May 16: Spring semester ends (6 p.m.).
    Spring convocation (5 p.m.).
  • Saturday, May 17: Commencement (9 a.m. & 2 p.m., check online schedule).
    Residence halls close (10 a.m.) for all students except graduating seniors (5 p.m.).
  • Monday, May 19: Reserved for departmental and divisional meetings.
    Year-End Planning Conference (tentative).
  • Wednesday, May 21: Final grades due (noon).

Summer Session 2014

Summer Session A (May 27-June 6)

  • Monday, May 26: Memorial Day (no classes).
  • Tuesday, May 27: Classes begin.
  • Friday, June 6: Summer Session A ends.
  • Wednesday, June 11: Final grades due (noon).

Summer Session B (June 9-July 11)

  • Monday, June 9: Classes begin.
  • Friday, July 4: Independence Day (no classes).
  • Friday, July 11: Summer Session B ends.
  • Wednesday, July 16: Final grades due (noon).

Summer Session C (July 14-August 15)

  • Monday, July 14: Classes begin.
  • Friday, August 15: Summer Session C ends.
  • Wednesday, August 20: Final grades due (noon).
 

Contact Information

For more information about Academic Affairs at SUNY Plattsburgh, please contact:

James Liszka, Ph.D.
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Office: Kehoe 802
Phone: (518) 564-5402
Email: provost-office@plattsburgh.edu

Lizabeth J. Woodard
Secretary
Office: Kehoe 805
Phone: (518) 564-5402
Fax: (518) 564-4415
Email: lizabeth.woodard@plattsburgh.edu