Canadian Studies Programs in the United States

Alaska

Dr. Diddy Hitchins
Director, Canadian Studies Program
University of Alaska, Anchorage
3211 Providence Drive
Anchorage, AK 99508-8194
Phone: (907) 786-1582
Fax: (907) 786-4647
E-mail: diddy@uaa.alaska.edu
Web: cdnst.uaa.alaska.edu/index.html

Dr. Cary W. de Wit
University of Alaska, Fairbanks
P.O. Box 755840
Fairbanks, AK 99775-5840
Phone: (907) 474-7141
Fax: (907) 474-6184
E-mail: ffcwd@uaf.edu

California

Dr. Thomas G. Barnes & Dr. Nelson Graburn, Co-Chairs
Dr. Rita Ross, Vice-Chair & Academic Coordinator

University of California, Berkeley
2223 Fulton St #2324 (Room 338)
Berkeley, CA 94720-2324
Phone: (510) 642-0531
Fax: (510) 642-0531
E-mail: canada@uclink.berkeley.edu
Web: www.ias.berkeley.edu/canada/

Dr. J.R. DeShazo, Director
Professor of Public Policy
3250 Public Policy Building
Canadian Studies Program at UCLA
University of California, Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA 90095-1656
Phone: (310) 206-6717
Fax: (310) 206-0337
E-mail: deshazo@ucla.edu

Dr. Nga Scott, Program Coordinator
School of Public Affairs
P.O. Box 951656
Phone: (310) 825-8682
Fax: (310) 206-5773
E-mail: nscott@ucla.edu
Web: www.sppsr.ucla.edu/canadianstudies/

Dr. Patrick James, Director
Canadian Studies Program
School of International Relations
Social Science Building, SOS B1
University of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA 90089-0043
Phone: (213) 821-.4114
Fax: (213) 742-0281
E-mail: patrickj@usc.edu

Colorado

Prof. Curtis Cook
Director, North American Studies
Colorado College
14 East Cache la Pourde
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
Phone: (719) 227-8140
Fax: (719) 389-6586
E-mail: ccook@coloradocollege.edu
Web: www2.coloradocollege.edu/idprog/NorthAmericanStudies/

Connecticut

R. Max Ferguson
Director, Canadian Studies Program
Eastern Connecticut State University
Department of Chemistry
79 Windham Street
Willimantic, CT 06626
Phone: (860) 465-5219
Fax: (860) 465-5213
E-mail: fergusonm@easternct.edu
Web: www.easternct.edu/depts/canadianstudies/

Dr. Harvey Goldblatt
Chair, Committee on Canadian Studies
Yale University
34 Hillhouse Ave., Henry R. Luce Hall
New Haven, CT 06520-8206
Phone: (203) 432-5596
Fax: (203) 432-1041
E-mail: Harvey.goldblatt@yale.edu
Web: www.yale.edu/macmillan/canada/

District of Columbia

Dr. Robert Pastor
Director, Center for North American Studies
American University
Mailing Address: 4400 Massachusetts Avenue N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20016-8026
Office Location: 3201 New Mexico Avenue, N.W.
Suite 265
Washington, D.C. 20016
Phone: (202) 885-2728
Fax: (202) 885-1366
E-mail: rpastor@american.edu
Web: www.american.edu/internationalaffairs/cnas

Canada Project
Center for Strategic & International Studies
1800 K Street, N.W. #400
Washington, D.C. 20006
Phone: (202) 775-3246
Fax: (202) 572-1537
E-mail: csands@csis.org
Web: www.csis.org/americas/canada/index.htm

Drs. Jeffrey J. Schott & Gary Clyde Hufbauer
Canadian Studies Program
Institute for International Economics
1750 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
Phone: (202) 328-9000
Fax: (202) 328-5432
E-mail: jschott@iie.com or ghufbauer@iie.com
Web: www.iie.com

Dr. Charles Doran
Director, Center for Canadian Studies
The Johns Hopkins University,
School of Advanced & International Studies
1740 Massachusetts Avenue, N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20036
Phone: (202) 663-5715
Fax: (202) 663-5717
E-mail: cfdoran@jhu.edu

Mr. David Biette
Director, Canada Institute
Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars
One Woodrow Wilson Plaza
1300 Pennsylvania Avenue N.W.
Washington, D.C. 20004-3027
Phone: (202) 691-4133
Fax: (202) 691-4001
E-mail: canada@wwic.si.edu
Web: www.wilsoncenter.org

Georgia

The University System of Georgia Center for Canadian Studies
University of West Georgia
1601 Maple Street
Carrollton, GA 30118
Phone: (678) 839-6064
E-mail: hnicol@westga.edu
Web: usg-canada.org

Idaho

Dr. Ross Burkhart & Dr. Lori Hausegger, Co-Directors
Canadian Studies Program
Boise State University
Department of Political Science
Boise, ID 83725-1950
Phone: (208) 426-3280 (Ross)
Fax: (208) 426-4370
E-mail:burkha@boisestate.edu LoriHausegger@boisestate.edu
Web: polisci.boisestate.edu/canadian

Indiana

Dr. Donald Gilman
Chair, Committee on Canadian Studies
Ball State University
Muncie, IN 47306
Phone: (765) 285-1367
Fax: (765) 285-5877
E-mail: dgilman@bsu.edu

Dr. Ralph Guentzel
Director, Canadian Studies
Franklin College
101 Branigin Boulevard
Franklin, IN 46131-2623
Phone: (317) 738-8211
Fax: (317) 736-6030
E-mail: rguentzel@franklincollege.edu
Web: www.franklincollege.edu/Canweb/

Kansas

Dr. Kenneth M. Holland
Kansas State University
Associate Provost, International Programs
304 Fairchild
Manhattan, KS 66506-1111
Phone: (785) 532-5990
Fax: (785) 532-6550
E-mail: kholland@ksu.edu

Kentucky

Dr. Ernest J. Yanarella
Kentucky Canadian Studies Association
University of Kentucky
Department of Political Science
Patterson Office Tower #1615
Lexington, KY 40506
Phone: (849) 257-2989
Fax: (859) 257-7034
E-mail: ejyana@uky.edu
Web: www.uky.edu/OtherOrgs/KCSA/kcsc.html

Louisiana

Dr. John Ferstel
Chair, Canadian Studies Committee
University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Department of English
Lafayette, LA 70504
Phone: (337) 482-5499
Fax: (337) 482-5071
E-mail: jwf3885@louisiana.edu

Maine

Dr. Stephen Hornsby
Director, Canadian-American Center
University of Maine
Canada House
154 College Avenue
Orono, ME 04473
Phone: (207) 581-4225
Fax: (207) 581-4223
E-mail: hornsby@maine.edu
Web: www.umaine.edu/canam/

Massachusetts

Dr. Anthony Cicerone
Coordinator, Canadian Studies Program
Bridgewater State College
Hunt Hall
Bridgewater, MA 02325
Phone: (508) 531-2421
Fax: (508) 531-6136
E-mail: cicerone@bridgew.edu
Web: www.bridgew.edu/canada/

Ms. Helen Clayton
Coordinator, Canada Seminar Series
Harvard University
Center for International Affairs
1737 Cambridge
Cambridge, MA 02138
Phone: (617) 495-3671
Fax: (617) 495-.8292
E-mail: hclayton@wcfia.harvard.edu
Web: www.wcfia.harvard.edu/seminars/canada/

Five College Canadian Studies Program
97 Spring Street
Amherst, MA 01002
Phone: (413) 256-.8316
Fax: (413) 256-0249
Web: www.fivecolleges.edu/academic_programs/academprog_deptprog_canada.html

Michigan

Dr. Phil Handrick
Acting Director, Canadian Studies Centre
Michigan State University
306 International Center
East Lansing, MI 48824-1035
Phone: (517) 353-9349
Fax: (517) 432-4845
E-mail: csc@msu.edu
Web: www.isp.msu.edu/CanadianStudies/

Dr. John Reifenberg, Jr.
Executive Director, Center for Canadian-U.S. Law
Michigan State University
357 Law College Building
East Lansing, MI 48824-1300
Phone: (517) 432-6892
Fax: (517) 432-6801
E-mail: reifenbe@law.msu.edu
Web: www.law.msu.edu/academics/ac-spec.com.html

Dr. John J. Bukowczyk
Director, Canadian Studies Program
Wayne State University
3125 Faculty/Administration Building
Detroit, MI 48202
Phone: (313) 577-2799
Fax: (313) 577-.6987
E-mail: aa2092@wayne.edu
Web: www.cla.wayne.edu/canadianstudies/

Nora Faires
Chair, Canadian Studies Initiative
Western Michigan University
Department of History
4310 Friedmann Hall
Kalamazoo, MI 49008-5334
Phone: (269) 387-4666
Fax: (269) 387-4651
E-mail: nora.faires@wmich.edu
Web: international.wmich.edu/canadianstudies

Missouri

Dr. James Endersby
Canadian Studies Program
University of Missouri
Department of Political Science
202 Professional Building
Columbia, MO 65211
Phone: (573) 882-4687
Fax: (573) 884-.5131
E-mail: endersby@missouri.edu
Web: www.missouri.edu/~polswww/canadast.html

Montana

Dr. Leonard Broberg
Canadian Studies Initiative
University of Montana
Environmental Studies
Rankin Hall 103
Missoula, MT 59812
Phone: (406) 243-5209
Fax: (406) 243-6090
E-mail: lenbroberg@umontana.edu

New Hampshire

Dr. George Maloof
Director, Canadian Studies Center
Boyd Hall MSC#49
Plymouth State College
Plymouth, NH 03264
Phone: (603) 535-.2482
Fax: (603) 535-.2780
E-mail: georgem@psc.plymouth.edu
Web: oz.Plymouth.edu/~maloof/canada.html

Dr. Theodore Howard
Director, Center for International Education
University of New Hampshire
Durham, NH
Phone: (603) 862-2398
E-mail: tehoward@christa.unh.edu
Web: www.unh.edu/cie/canada.html

New Jersey

Dr. Alan Patten
Chair, Canadian Studies Program
Princeton University
207 Humanities Programs Building
Princeton, NJ 08544
Phone: (609) 258-.4959
Fax: (609) 258-6866
E-mail: trunorth@princeton.edu
Web: www.princeton.edu/~trunorth/

New York

Dr. Frederic Menz
Director, Center for Canadian-U.S. Business Studies
Clarkson University
P.O. Box 5785
Potsdam, NY 13699-5785
Phone: (315) 268-6427
Fax: (315) 268-3810
E-mail: menzf@clarkson.edu
Web: www.clarkson.edu/business/cgc/canadian/

Dr. Christopher Kirkey
Director, Center for the Study of Canada
State University of New York College at Plattsburgh
133 Court Street
Plattsburgh, NY 12901
Phone: (518) 564-2086
Fax: (518) 564-2112
E-mail: Christopher.Kirkey@plattsburgh.edu
Web: www.plattsburgh.edu/cesca

Dr. Robert Thacker
Director, Canadian Studies Program
St. Lawrence University
Canton, NY 13617
Phone: (315) 229-5970
Fax: (315) 229-5802
E-mail: rthacker@stlawu.edu
Web: www.stlawu.edu/programs/Canadian_studies.html

Dr. Munroe Eagles
Canadian Studies Program Director
University at Buffalo, SUNY
810 Clemens Hall, North Campus
Buffalo, NY 14260
Phone: (716) 645-2711
Fax: (716) 645-3888
E-mail: eagles@buffalo.edu
Web: www.canadianstudies.buffalo.edu

North Carolina

Dr. Jean-Jacques Thomas
Director, Canadian & North American Studies
Duke University
John Hope Franklin Center
Box 90422
2204 Erwin Road
Durham, NC 27708-0422
Phone: (919) 684-4260
Fax: (919) 681-7882
Web: jhfc.duke.edu/canadianstudies/

North Dakota

Dr. Jim Mochoruk
Canadian Studies Coordinating Committee
University of North Dakota
History Department
219 Merrifield Hall
Box 8096
Grand Forks, ND 58202
Phone: (701) 777-3681
Fax: (701) 777-4636

Ohio

Christine Drennen
Acting Director, Canadian Studies Center
Bowling Green State University
253 Business Administration Building
Bowling Green, OH 45403-0260
Phone: (419) 372-2457
Fax: (419) 372-0457
E-mail: mkasoff@cba.bgsu.edu
Web: www.cba.bgsu.edu/cast/

Dr. Stephen Salter
Director, Canadian Business Studies Program
University of Cincinnati
College of Business
318 Carl H. Linden Hall
P.O. Box 210211
Cincinnati, OH 45221-0211
Phone: (513) 556-7056
Fax: (513) 556-6278
E-mail: saltersb@email.uc.edu

Dr. Andrew Solocha
North American Business Research Center
University of Toledo
College of Business Administration
Stranahan Hall 3007
Toledo, OH 43606
Phone: (419) 530-2564
Fax: (419) 530-2873
E-mail: Andrew.solocha@utoledo.edu

Oregon

Dr. Claudine G. Fisher
Director, Canadian Studies
Portland State University
P.O. Box 751
Portland, OR 97207
Phone: (503) 725-5298
Fax: (503) 725-5320
E-mail: smallmans@pdx.edu
Web: www.intl.pdx.edu/ISP/Canadian/

Dr. Susan W. Hardwick
Chair, Canadian Studies Committee
1251 University of Oregon
Department of Geography, Condon Hall 175
Eugene, OR 97403-1251
Phone: (541) 346-4557
Fax: (541) 346-2067
E-mail: susanh@uoregon.edu
Web: canadianstudies.uoregon.edu

Pennsylvania

Dr. Joe McGinn & Dr. Brian Okey
Co Executive Directors,
Pennsylvannia Canadian Studies Consortium
Web: www.mansfield.edu/~canadian/

Dr. Judith McDonald
Director, Canadian Studies Institute
Lehigh University
Rauch Business Center 423
621 Taylor Street
Bethlehem, PA 18015-3144
Phone: (610) 758-5345
Fax: (610) 758-4677
E-mail: djm0@lehigh.edu

Dr. Robert Timko
Director, Canadian Studies
Mansfield University of Pennsylvania
South Hall 317
Mansfield, PA 16933
Phone: (570) 662-4229
Fax: (570) 662-4112
E-mail: rtimko@mnsfld.edu

Tennessee

Dr. Robert Barsky
Director, Canadian Studies Program
Vanderbilt University
Dept. of Comparative Literature, French & Italian
Furman Hall 227
P.O. Box 6312, Station B
Nashville, TN 37235-0001
Phone: (615) 322-.2652
Fax: (615) 343-6909
E-mail: robert.barsky@vanderbilt.edu
Web: www.vanderbilt.edu/canadianstudies

Texas

Dr. Lorraine Eden, Director
Canadian Studies Program
Center for International Business Studies
Texas A&M University
423B Wehner Building
College Station, TX 77843-4221
Phone: (979) 862-4053
Fax: (979) 845-9641
E-mail: leden@tamu.edu
Web: cibs.tamu.edu/Canada/index.htm

Utah

Dr. Earl Fry
Coordinator, Canadian Studies
Brigham Young University
237-F HRCB
674 SWKT
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: (703) 422-9131
Fax: (703) 422-2354
E-mail: earl_fry@byu.edu
Web: kennedy.byu.edu/research/canadianstudies/canstud.html

Vermont

Dr. Richard Brooks
Coordinator, Canadian Studies Program
Vermont Law School
P.O. Box 96
Chelsea Street
South Royalton, VT 05068
Phone: (802) 831-1216
Fax: (802) 763-2940
E-mail: rbrooks@vermontlaw.edu

Dr. Paul W. Martin
Director, Canadian Studies Program
University of Vermont
589 Main Street
Burlington, VT 05401
Phone: (802) 656-3541
Fax: (802) 656-8518
E-mail: paul.martin@uvm.edu
Web: www.uvm.edu/~canada/

Virginia

Dr. Matthew Karush
Coordinator, North American Studies
George Mason University
Robinson Hall, Room B339
Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone: (703) 993-1010
Fax: (703) 993-1251
E-mail: mkarush@gmu.edu
Web: cas.gmu.edu/undergraduate_students/minors/northamerican_studies/index.html

Washington

Dr. Daniel Turbeville
Eastern Washington University
Department of Geography
103 Isle Hall
Cheney, WA 99004-2417
Phone: (509) 359-2270
Fax: (509) 359-4632
E-mail: dturbeville@mail.ewu.edu

Dr. Michael Treleaven
Director, Nations & Communities in North America
Gonzaga University
Department of Political Science
AD Box 111
Spokane, WA 99258-0001
Phone: (509) 323-6698
Fax: (509) 323-5718
E-mail: treleaven@gem.gonzaga.edu

Dr. Thomas Murphy
Canadian Studies Program
Seattle University
924 East Cherry
Seattle, WA 98122
Phone: (206) 296-5444
E-mail: tmurphy@seattleu.edu

Daniel Hart
Director, Canadian Studies Center
University of Washington
The Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies
Thomson 238, Box 353650
Seattle, WA 98195-3650
Phone: (206) 685-2509
Fax: (206) 616-8171
E-mail: canada@u.washington.edu
Web: jsis.artsci.Washington.edu/programs/canada/

Dr. Marina Tolmacheva
Canadian Studies Program
Washington State University
Associate Dean, CLA
Thompson 310B
Pullman, WA 99164-2630
Phone: (509) 335-.4581
E-mail: tolmache@wsu.edu

Dr. Don Alper
Director, Center for Canadian-American Studies
Western Washington University
516 High Street
Canada House 201
Bellingham, WA 98225-9110
Phone: (360) 650-3728
Fax: (360) 650-3995
E-mail: alper@cc.wwu.edu
Web: www.ac.wwu.edu/~canam/

Wisconsin

Dr. Marc Levine
Director, Center for Canadian-American Policy Studies
University of Wisconsin
P.O. Box 413
Milwaukee, WI 53202
Phone: (414) 229-5806
Fax: (414) 229-4370
E-mail: veblen@uwm.edu
Web: www.uwm.edu/Dept/ccaps/index.html

Questions, Comments, Suggestions?

If you would like more information about the CONNECT program at SUNY Plattsburgh, please contact:

Christopher Kirkey
Executive Director, CONNECT
Director, Center for the Study of Canada
State University of New York College at Plattsburgh
E-mail: Christopher.kirkey@plattsburgh.edu
Phone: (518) 564-2086
Fax: (518) 564-2112

Center for the Study of Canada
State University of New York College at Plattsburgh
133 Court St.,
Plattsburgh, NY 12901